Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Body Systems: Home

Possible Topics

Chose a topic that interests you:

  • Pollution: Air pollution / air quality, Climate changeDrinking water contaminationPlastic pollutionAcid rain

  • Habitat destruction/extinction: Deforestation, Rainforests, Endangered species, Over hunting, Overfishing, Invasive species, Ocean acidification, Urban/suburban sprawl

  • Resources: World water crisis, Running out of nonrenewable resources, Sustainable building supplies

School Databases

For this research project you need to use and cite AT LEAST 3 different articles. Use the databases below to find the best information for guiding questions.

Remember to avoid plagiarism by citing your sources.  Make sure you put the citation on the bottom of each notecard. Citations are done for you in all Databases.

Britannica

*Username: lurgio  *Password: lurgio

ABC-CLIO: Understanding Controversy and Society

*Username: lurgio  *Password: lurgio

EBSCO  login info: 

*Username: 03110  

*Password: Bedford603!

Choose Student Resources in upper left hand corner 

Select All Databases:

Gale In Context: Science

*Username: lurgio  *Password: lurgio

Find Copyright Safe Images Below

  1. Britannica ImageQuest  (These images are cited for you)
  2. Google Images    (Under Tools select: "Labeled for reuse")    

Databases have citations already created for you! Look for the following icons to find the citation:

  

Guiding Questions

  • What is __________________________?
  • What are the causes of __________________________ ?

  • How does __________________________ affect the environment?

  • How does __________________________ affect humans?

  • How can we fix or improve __________________________?

Requirements

For this research project you need to use and cite AT LEAST 3 different articles.

1 Fact per notecard.

A minimum of 3 facts per guiding question.

Every notecard needs its own citation. 

Find reputable articles with completed citations in Databases.

Plastic Pollution

greenpeace.org

Example of Citations

See Example HERE

Works Cited Document: SET THIS UP FIRST

  •    Title the document: (Human Impact Research Project)
  •    Times New Roman,   12 font,   Double Spaced

All Citations: 

  •    ABC order
  •    Every line AFTER the first is indented.
  •    (Return - Tab:  to indent any line after the 1st)

________________________________________________________________

Your Name

Teacher's Name

Class or Assignment

7 February 2022

Works Cited

Cheng, Amy. "The world created about 8 million tons of pandemic plastic waste, and 

much of it is now in the ocean." Washington Post, 10 Nov. 2021, p. NA. Gale In 

Context: Science, 

link.gale.com/apps/doc/A681842355/SCIC?u=bedf6824&sid=bookmark-SCIC&xi

d=f6d1e618. Accessed 7 Feb. 2022.

Metcalfe, John. "From national parks to the deep sea, plastic pollution is showing up wherever 

scientists look." Washington Post, 14 June 2020. Gale In Context: Science, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A626627253/SCIC?

u=bedf6824&sid=bookmark-SCIC&xid=30a6f30c. Accessed 7 Feb. 2022

 

 

 

 

 

Cite Your Sources

Why Do We Cite? Video

Click here to view the video titled Why You Need to Cite Sources

 

 

https://safeshare.tv/x/WZEwCbHigxA

 

Use this citation generator to create your MLA style citations for your websites and books. (Databases already have citations available for you in the articles.)

Why Cite?

Give Credit to the Author or Creator

  • So you can get back to you source
  • Avoid Plagiarism
  • Stay Organized

Cite as you go!

Reliable Websites

TIP:  To find authoritative and reliable websites on Human Impact Issues you can trust websites ending in .edu, .gov.

TIP: In the Google search bar type:

EX:   site:.edu deforestation (your topic)

HELPFUL WEBSITE:

National Geographic.org (Type keyword into the search box and select 7th and 8th grade Articles)

Cite these websites using: Citation Maker

 

RADCAB

HOW TO EVALUATE SOURCES: Follow this acronym, RADCAB

Relevant?  Is this information applicable to my research question?

Accurate? Is this information correct? Is the same content written on another book, database, or website?

Detail? How much detail do I need?

Current?  Is this information up to date?

Authority? Who is the author of this information?  What are their qualifications?

Bias?  Why did the author write this information? Is is intended to inform me? Persuade me or sell me something?

Source:

Christensson, Karen M. "RADCAB Your Vehicle for Information Evaluation." Karen M. Christensson, 9 Mar. 2020, www.radcab.com/.