Skip to main content

Global Studies : Genocide

Global Studies is a team-taught, interdisciplinary course focused on the literature, histories, governments, geography, and cultures of the world including Africa, Asia, Europe, and South America.

BHS Destiny Genocide Collection

Visit the Library Collection about genocide for ebooks and live links about Genocide HERE.

Library Print Resources

Helpful Databases

Keywords when Database Searching

Genocide in Rwanda/Cambodia/Myanmar/Armenia/Sudan
Genocide in Darfur/Burma
Genocide against the Tutsi
Genocide survivors
Armenian/Cambodian Genocide
Human Rights in Rwanda/Cambodia/Myanmar/Armenia/Sudan
Civil War in Rwanda/Cambodia/Myanmar/Armenia/Sudan
Crimes Against Humanity in Rwanda/Cambodia/Myanmar/Armenia/Sudan
Genocide victims in Rwanda/Cambodia/Myanmar/Armenia/Sudan

Genocide by Country


NYT article Armenian Genocide of 1915: An Overview

 Encyclopedia of human rights (Google Books). Oxford University Press. 11 August 2009. p. 98. ISBN 978-0-19-533402-9

"Fact sheet: armenian genocide". Knights of Vartan Armenian Research Center, The University of Michigan-Dearborn.

Q&A: Armenian 'genocide'"News (BBC). 12 October 2006. Archived from the original on 1 March 2007


Barker, Greg (2004). "Ghosts of Rwanda"Frontline. PBS.

Carlsson, Ingvar et al. (15 December 1999). Report of the Independent Inquiry into the Actions of the United Nations During the 1994 Genocide in Rwanda (Report). New York, NY: United Nations. Retrieved 5 November 2013.

Kirschke, Linda (1996). Broadcasting Genocide: Censorship, Propaganda & State-sponsored Violence in Rwanda, 1990–1994. London: ARTICLE 19.

Miller, Donald E.; Miller, Lorna Touryan (2009). Orphans of the Rwanda Genocide. Los Angeles, CA: USC Center for Religion and Civic Culture.

Genocide Archive Rwanda


 "Will peace return to Darfur?". BBC News. 23 February 2010

"The 'Genocide Olympics', The Wall Street Journal, 28 March 2007". Archived from the original on 22 August 2007

"Sudan: Arms continuing to fuel serious human rights violations in Darfur". Amnesty International.

"Google Earth focuses on Sudan atrocities". MSNBC.


Sharp, Bruce (April 1, 2005). "Counting Hell: The Death Toll of the Khmer Rouge Regime in Cambodia"

"Cambodia's brutal Khmer Rouge regime". BBC News. September 19, 2007.

"Cambodian Genocide Program | Yale University". July 18, 2007

From Sideshow to Genocide: Stories from the Cambodian Holocaust – virtual history of the Khmer Rouge plus a collection of survivor stories.

U.S. and Vietnamese Involvement in Cambodian Civil War from the Dean Peter Krogh Foreign Affairs Digital Archives


"Radovan Karadzic, a Bosnian Serb, Gets 40 Years Over Genocide and War Crimes"The New York Times.

American and the Bosnia Genocide by Mark Danner New York Review of Books, Volume 44, Number 19, 4 December 1997

Genocide in Bosnia Peace Pledge Union Information website

The Bosnian Genocide and Justice from Rutgers

History of Bosnia and Herzegovina: Primary Documents

Decision to Intervene: How the War in Bosnia Ended

Genocide in Bosnia

Srebrenica: A Survivor’s StoryInterview With Hasan Nuhanovic

Survivor Stories


Yale Law School Report Persecution of the Rohingya Muslims: Is Genocide Occurring in Myanmar's Rakhine State?

NY Magazine Article

Time Magazine Article


PBS Documentary

TED Talks

TED is an organization devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design.