Skip to main content

Global Studies : Latin America

Global Studies is a team-taught, interdisciplinary course focused on the literature, histories, governments, geography, and cultures of the world including Africa, Asia, Europe, and South America.

Library Resources

Library Databases

Here are  a few databases to get you started, remember there are many more!

http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/bedf0311?db=SRC

Reliable Web Resources

These resources are borrowed from Oxford University LibGuide

Libraries across the world are organizing their collections, and a wealth of primary source material can now be found online. The following links are gateways to a wide variety of resources for the study of Latin American history.

  • LANIC Latin American Network Information Center
    LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. LANIC's editorially reviewed directories contain over 10,000 unique URLs, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet.
  • LANIC e-text collection
    This collection is designed to facilitate access to the hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text resources that are hosted by LANIC. These resources include research papers written by Latin American studies scholars; theses and dissertations; e-text versions of books; conference proceedings; speeches by Latin American leaders; periodical publications; and official documents.
  • World Digital Library - Latin America & the Caribbean
    With over 300 items digitised for the Latin American region, this collection contains photographs, maps, books and manuscripts and is fully searchable.
  • Library of Congress Hispanic Collections Online
    Links to the digitised collections of Luso-Hispanic interest in the Library of Congress
  • Early Americas Digital Archive
    A collection of electronic texts written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.
  • Documentos Revelados
    New online resource for the Brazilian military dictatorship, 1964-85. Includes documents and press cuttings on censorship, trials, police activity, left-wing groups and much more. There are also links to relevant archives.
  • HOSLAC
    A database of primary sources on the history of science in Latin America and the Caribbean. The site, launched in January 2010, provides a virtual archive of over 200 primary sources along with introductions based on the latest scholarly findings.

John Green Crash Course

E-books

Map