Skip to main content

American Dream: The Cold War

The American Dream is a team-taught, interdisciplinary course focused on the literature, history, government, and economics of the United States from the early 20th century to the present.

Library Resources

Crash Course

Worthy websites

Organizations

Cold War International History Project

"The Project supports the full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War, and seeks to accelerate the process of integrating new sources, materials and perspectives from the former "Communist bloc" with the historiography of the Cold War which has been written over the past few decades largely by Western scholars reliant on Western archival sources. It also seeks to transcend barriers of language, geography, and regional specialization to create new links among scholars interested in Cold War history."

CIA FOIA Electronic Reading Room

"The CIA has established this site to provide the public with an overview of access to CIA information, including electronic access to previously released documents. Because of CIA's need to comply with the national security laws of the United States, some documents or parts of documents cannot be released to the public."

 

 

Reliable Web Resources

Cold War International History Project

          http://digitalarchive.wilsoncenter.org/

Sponsored by the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, this online archive is extensive and especially notable for including English-translations of documents from Soviet-bloc countries.

 

The Avalon Project: Documents in Law History and Diplomacy

          http://avalon.law.yale.edu/

Transcripts of thousands of documents spanning several centuries, including a collection on the Cold War.

 Presidential Libraries

          http://www.archives.gov/presidential-libraries/

The National Archives and Records Administration supervises the Presidential Libraries, most of which now provide online access to selected documents.  For example, see the Eisenhower Library’s online collection on the U-2 Spy Plane Incident.

 

The National Security Archive

          http://www.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/

Note especially the Electronic Briefing Books and the documents and interview transcriptsassociated with CNN’s documentary series on the Cold War.

 

Documents Relating to American Foreign Policy: The Cold War

          https://www.mtholyoke.edu/acad/intrel/coldwar.htm

Hosted by Mt. Holyoke College, this directory is as extensive as Dr. LaFeber’s, but it also suffers from broken links due to intermittent maintenance.  Remember to search broken URLs in the WayBack Machine at the Internet Archive.