Skip to main content

American Dream: Nation Divided & Reunited?

The American Dream is a team-taught, interdisciplinary course focused on the literature, history, government, and economics of the United States from the early 20th century to the present.

Archived Photos

The Civil War . Images of the Civil War | PBS

Archived images from the Ken Burns' Civil War program

National Portrait Gallery

A collection from the Smithsonian Institute

Civil War Glass Negatives and Related Prints

This Library of Congress online collection provides access to about 7,000 different views and portraits made during the American Civil War (1861-1865) and its immediate aftermath.

Matthew Brady's Civil War Era Photography

The Library of Congress American Memory Archive of images from this famous Civil War-Era photographer.

National Archives Civil War Collection

View digital versions of Civil War letters, portraits, photographs, documents and more.

Required Reading

From the Library of Congress

Abraham Lincoln - Primary Source Set

Poems, letters and speeches drafted by Lincoln.

Civil War Music - Primary Source Set
Lyrics, sheet music and audio files of music from the Civil War era.

A Civil War Soldier in the Wild Cat Regiment
Documents the Civil War experience of Captain Tilton C. Reynolds, a member of the 105th Regiment of Pennsylvania Volunteers. The collection includes correspondence, photographs, and other materials dating between 1861 and 1865.

History of Mapping the Civil War
Reproduced from Civil War Maps: An Annotated List of Maps and Atlases in the Library of Congress compiled by Richard W. Stephenson.

Civil War Treasures from the New-York Historical Society
Materials from the New-York Historical Society that document the lives of ordinary citizens from both sides who were involved in the Civil War.

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
The records of the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the United States Congress make up a rich documentary history of the construction of the nation and the development of the federal government and its role in the national life. These documents record American history in the words of those who built our government.

Journal of the Confederate States of America, 1861-1865

Selected Civil War Photographs
Most of the images were made under the supervision of Mathew B. Brady, and include scenes of military personnel, preparations for battle, and battle after-effects. The collection also includes portraits of both Confederate and Union officers, and a selection of enlisted men.

Reconstruction Crash Course